Search This Blog

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Children's book awards

The American Library Association presented their Youth Media Awards on the closing day of their winter meeting in Seattle, on live webcast. 
The Newbury Medal went to The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate (Harpers), the story of a mighty gorilla's break for freedom.
The Caldecott Medal went to This is Not My Hat by NYT bestselling author Jon Klassen (Random House/Candlewick). When a tiny fish pops into view wearing a blue tophat, trouble is sure to follow. 

Bloomsbury Young Readers author Nick Lake won the Michael L. Printz Award for his inspiring story of a boy who survived an earthquake, In Darkness.

Recognition for longterm achievement went to Tamora Pierce, who won the Margaret A. Edwards Award for "significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature."

Check the American Library Association site for a complete list, and (I think) a replay of the webcast.

If you want to check out the winning authors and books for the past three years, perhaps with a view to purchase, have a look at the Publisher's Lunch site, Bookateria

No comments: